Out for a walk: Treasures discovered

sl1Every day I brave the bush, climb up and down a rope, navigate fallen trees and boulders and try to avoid being attacked by snakes, water monitors, other people’s dogs and, mostly, mosquitos!  What for?  Well, to ensure my dogs get the best walk they can, of course.

We traipse around for about an hour or more.  They run back and forth, sniffing and snuffling, I stride along thinking about work issues, print concepts, jobs to be done, drawing ideas (that usually don’t materialise!) and what’s for dinner.  It’s my quiet time, a time to chill and regain my equilibrium.

sl2I’m currently mulling over a new series of work, some of which has been started but most of which is still in my head.  It involves a dream, a dream of fantasy plants, trees and lands, a dream of strange creatures and mysterious scenes.

My daily walk provides much stimulation and as I closely observe my surroundings I’m reminded how lucky I am to live here.  The abundance of colour, texture and shape along with huge skies, skittering clouds and birds on every branch singing their own unique songs.

sl3

Under the overhang of a wind-hollowed rock I came upon this

Our bushrock steps leading down to the trails

Our bushrock steps leading down to the trails

The beauty of our state emblem, the Waratah

The beauty of our state emblem, the Waratah

Because of the heat in Australia most plants have small leaves. as they try to avoid becoming fried by the harsh summer sun.

My photo folders hold a great many images but there’s a definite pattern coming through over the last few years: lots of flowers, a huge amount of water shots, close-up images of tree bark and many, many photos of algae.  I love algae!

My next step is to consider how some of these items can be simplified (to allow for my lack of drawing skills) and be incorporated into my prints, either as recognisable items or not.

I’m big on stylisation and imagination, so let’s see where I can go using my photos as inspiration for my art.

This fern has leaves like split corrugated iron

This fern has leaves like split corrugated iron

I couldn't resist snapping the kangaroo having a sneaky peek at me!

I couldn’t resist snapping the kangaroo having a sneaky peek at me!

sl8Today, amongst the ground debris I spied a clump of rotting leaves.  Returning home, I cleaned them with a soft brush and laid them out to see what I’d found.

Close-up

Close-up

Some rather wonderful skeletonised leaves.

I’m wondering if they should be treated in some way to preserve them so I did a google search.  It doesn’t look like it and I hope to add them into my prints.  I did, however, come across a very interesting site detailing how to make your own skeletonised leaves using a variety of fresh leaves.  Click here to see the process yourself.  I think it looks fascinating and definitely worth trying.

About Claire B

I'm a passionate printmaker, paper-maker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I've stitched from early childhood and am a perpetual student, loving learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in My Creative Pieces. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Out for a walk: Treasures discovered

  1. Pingback: Stage 1: Elian and the Vortex | TactualTextiles

Leave a Reply

