Project: Lines & connections – Stage 3

F14Project Title: Connectivity

In my last post (here) I made a decision to continue working on my water-colour painting.

The boxes are providing an excellent base around which to form some connections and I started with some simple graphite lines.

F15F16I continued with linear stitching.  These were made deliberately small so the lines would appear a little more uneven than the precisely drawn graphite grids.  My hand-dyed variegated threads were used – in various weights, and the colours gradually shift across the piece.

Time to add some dimension:

F17And linear puncture marks indicating fragile and more tenuous connections:

F18Then some heavy ‘stop’ points for the eye to explore and consider.  This is to be the final part of the work and should make a small statement without overwhelming the rest.  The stitches should be noticed but not major focal points.  F19

I trialed elongated Sorbello stitch with different weights of yarn.  Decided to vary the thickness depending on the box size.

F20Excellent result.  Other than the question of hanging, the piece is finished.  All it requires in stiffening and some hanging apparatus, then it will be ready to photograph in its entirety.

This project has been a departure for me, something completely different.  I’m no great painter, but I am a very experienced stitcher and combining the two on paper is a whole new direction to explore.

About Claire B

I'm a passionate printmaker, paper-maker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I've stitched from early childhood and am a perpetual student, loving learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in My Creative Pieces and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Project: Lines & connections – Stage 3

  1. Looks good, and fun to do!

  2. Pingback: Exhibition – Façade | Fibres of Being

Leave a Reply

