Experimentation: Making a print sample book

Part 1:

My friend Nola and I get together every month for a day of playing with colour and transferring imagery and/or abstract colour patterns to cloth and paper.  We’ve done a bit of stamping, made glue resists, collage blocks, intaglio blocks out of foam and plastic, spray painted and more.

Along with the samples from these days I have some other experimental pieces made during this course, prints that didn’t fully work out, fabric marbling and printing, embossed and coloured paper and other bits and pieces.  What shall I do with them, as they are stacking up and sitting unused?

We decided to each make a book to hold our sample treasures.  Nola has made one in the chosen format before so I’m very much following her lead on this.  As many of our samples are quite small, or we choose to cut sections out of larger prints, we are sticking to a roughly A5 size book cover.

I was advised to buy some Jatz crackers, open the box ends up and cut through the narrower sides to form two identical pieces.

JB1One of the cut narrow sides was overlapped with the other and they were glued together, making a strong spine (I hope this was the right thing to do).  All the other flaps were trimmed and glued to the inside of the box.

JB2I’ve now got the bare bones of the outside of my book, ready to be covered and then filled with my goodies.  This is fun already.  Now I’m off to sort out all those ‘misfits’, accidental prints and whatever else I can find amongst my stash where I’ve applied colour to fabric or paper.

Look out for the next instalment.

About Claire B

A passionate embroiderer, a printmaker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I'm a perpetual student and love learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in My Creative Pieces, Print 1: Experimentation, Print 1: Musings, Printmaking 1 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Experimentation: Making a print sample book

  1. Nola says:

    Looking good! Now to rustle up the goodies for tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

