On the hunt for print paper.

I was lucky to get a tip on where to find a supply of elephant dung paper which I’ve enjoyed printing on during this course.  So yesterday I went hunting.

Elephant-dung-paperThe Fair Trade Emporium at Marrickville had what I wanted and also a range of colours to choose from.

I’m soon coming to a section of the course which involves chine collé, the addition of lightweight papers within the printed surface and I thought it would be interesting to select some coloured base paper to work over.

I’m not sure if these papers can be dampened for printing or if they will disintegrate but let’s see what happens once I’ve got them flattened and ready to use.

On the same site is Reverse Garbage, an interesting place for all sorts of odds and ends.  I’m always a bit freaked out about the accumulated dirt and dust as some things seem to lie around gathering muck for quite a while.  However, this time I spotted a lady pulling out a long roll of paper from a stack against the wall, which didn’t look too filthy on the outside (mind you, it wasn’t exactly clean either).  After a search I managed to purchase a large roll of brown wrapping paper and another of what I thought was cartridge paper.

Jiffy-bagIt turned out to be a roll of paper with perforations ready to be torn and constructed into postal jiffy bags!!  Oops.  It’s got a semi-plastic coating on the inside, obviously ready for the bubble wrap to be attached before forming into the padded envelopes.  Honestly, they have some weird things at Reverse Garbage.

So, can I print on it, even if only to do a few practice pieces?  I’m not sure the ink will adhere to the unlabelled inside, but I’ve got another idea.

I’m currently working through some wet print paper ideas for improving my ink transfer results.  One suggestion, from my tutor, is that I should damp my print paper and keep it moist whilst I print multiple layers of colour.  The instructions are that I should layer the prints with blotting paper to keep damp and, if leaving them overnight, cover with plastic to keep the moisture in until I finish the prints the following day.  Well, as this jiffy bag paper is semi-plastic would it work to retain the moisture in my paper between print layers?  If I can start early morning I should be able to print 3 colour layers in a single day, keeping my prints sandwiched in jiffy paper in between time.  So I’ll give it a try.

The brown wrapping paper will be good for trying initial print designs on.  All up, not a bad result for a day rummaging around Marrickville.

About Claire B

I'm a passionate printmaker, paper-maker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I've stitched from early childhood and am a perpetual student, loving learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Print 1: Musings, Printmaking 1 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

