Print 1. Assignment 3: Reading material

During this assignment I referred to a lot of artist work on-line, my own notes from recent courses and exhibitions I have attended and the following books:

Simple-PrintmakingThis is a superb book and give instruction in detail.  Although the focus for using unusual tools is mainly described as relating to mark-making on wood blocks the same processes can be used for lino and other surfaces.

It has short sections on drawing techniques, a gallery section, developing a design and so on.  It also has some small projects at the back of the book.  Whilst these might not necessarily suit everyone it’s a good place to see some of the techniques used to create a resolved piece.

I’ll be using this book in the next assignment as it also has a small section on collagraphs.Handmade-Prints

Handmade Prints covers many, many techniques.  It goes from the very simple (potato prints) through to complex layering in linocuts.  The suggestions for print media is extensive and it will be very useful in the next assignment as building up print surfaces and collages is quite prominent.

I refer to this book often as it is very stimulating and full of ideas.  There is a huge amount of information regarding both removing and adding to print surfaces to obtain unique outcomes.

Art-IdeasThis quirky little book is a wonderful resource for colour choices.  I picked it up on a discount book stall and whilst most of the projects don’t interest me the techniques do.

What I especially like is that it is divided into sections which cover different print media.  I’m referring to the multitude of acrylic paints, oil paints & inks, pastels, watercolours, wax crayons and so on that are now available.  Each section gives examples of different effects that can be achieved with each media.

There are some unusual effects, some very good visual elements and a lot of colour and advice throughout.  Whilst not directly related to my course subject I still find it useful to have on my shelf.

Other books have been skimmed through for relevant information but the ones above are the most used for this assignment.

About Claire B

I'm a passionate printmaker, paper-maker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I've stitched from early childhood and am a perpetual student, loving learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Print 1: Assignment 3, Print 1: Books & Reading Material, Printmaking 1 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

