Knitting & beading

With my friend Rita becoming a grandma for the first time I thought I should step up and have a go at knitting a baby jacket.  I haven’t knitted for well over 15 years but I figured it is like riding a bike, you never really forget how.

The pattern asked for numerous different colours and I was lucky the supplier had a huge range of mini wool balls which were designed for this project, meaning no wastage at the end.  What a good idea and also a way to keep the cost down.

Baby-jacketI don’t knit as well as Rita but the result is wearable and it’s very cheerful looking.  I hope baby Nathan James gets to wear it before outgrowing it!

Beaded beads

My samples for guidance

My samples for guidance

On Saturday I led a group of ladies in making some beaded beads to be attached to art cards later.

Using brown paper bag as our base we painted narrow strips of autumnal colours in acrylic paints.  We cut wire lengths and threaded all sorts of small coloured beads on, ready to twist around our paper tubes.  Once the paint was dry we cut strips, added double-sided tape, wrapped around knitting needles and then twisted the beaded wires on to them.

Beads2Beads1BeadsEveryone really enjoyed it and we will move to the assembly stage at our meeting next month.
Hard to photograph because of the shire of the wire and beads.

About Claire B

I'm a passionate printmaker, paper-maker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I've stitched from early childhood and am a perpetual student, loving learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in My Creative Pieces and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Knitting & beading

  1. jane b (epocktextiles) says:

    Cardi is very cute, and the beads are shiny and beautiful

  2. Deb says:

    I think you might get hooked on working with beads. I can spend hours stitching on tiny bead after tiny bead. Looks a neat project.

    • Claire B says:

      I’ll post the finished cards when they are done and you can see how they look combined with the other techniques, Deb. They are always fun to do and come out different every time.

  3. Gail Sadleir says:

    Something different, well done Claire

Leave a Reply

