Playing with photoshop

Although this isn’t part of my OCA course I find Photoshop a useful program when designing.  I’m gradually increasing my knowledge in relation to the various tools available in CS6.

PS5Here’s a small selection of the options.  Obviously when selecting one it then opens up a whole range of choices within that area as well.  I’m slowly getting smarter at using some of them.

I was asked to design an invitation for an exhibition I’m soon participating in, so I’ve spent some time working on this.  It’s finished and is currently at the printer.  Very exciting.  The black outline on the pictures below doesn’t actually exist – the invitation edge is just inside this – but it disappears into the white screen background without it.  The images show first the front and then the back of the DL sized flyer.

Invitation-front-final-black-edgeInvitation-back-final-black-edgeThe artworks in the magnifiers, from left to right, show small sections of eco dyed paper (my work), appliquéd and machine stitched flowers & foliage, felted and layered silk & wool fibre, heavy machine stitched appliquéd quilting and encaustic art.

I’m extremely pleased with the overall effect and, yes, the text line where it says ‘hangings’ was not supposed to sit flush with the rest.  Even I, with my extremely ordered mind, believe that some things look better just a little less arranged.

About Claire B

I'm a passionate printmaker, paper-maker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I've stitched from early childhood and am a perpetual student, loving learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in My Creative Pieces, Print 1: Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

