Print 1. Further embossing experimentation

At the end of my last print run I was left with some excess inks and, always keen to use them up, I continued with some embossing which I enjoyed doing back in February.  I have a few Cedar Canyon rubbing plates and I tried one underneath a piece of waste paper where I had earlier been cleaning my roller (several times!).  I simply rolled the red inked roller over the paper, pressing fairly firmly to bring up the raised sections of the rubbing plate.

Embossed-4Whilst it’s a bit of a mish-mash because of the mass of different base colours I thought there may be some scope for these plates anyway.

Embossed-5Same ink but on clean white cartridge paper.  In the left photo, the first print, you can see where the roller turned a full revolution and started on its second round with less ink.  So I went to a clean sheet and continued to roll achieving a very soft and even print.

Embossed-6I decided to make my own embossing plate.  I drew a design (similar to a commercial plate) on to paper and glued it to cardboard.  I then made a 4 strand string cord and glued it down over the drawn pattern.  The whole thing was sealed with a couple of coats of Paverpol and left to dry, which took several days.

On the right you can see my first trial with the red over a blue base.  The knobbles of the twisted cord have come through as a broken line.

Embossed-7Above left is orange over a white background and, on the right, red over an orange background.  the second sample was run over twice and a slight movement has occurred making the design appear to be slightly out of focus.

These would be terrific combined with other techniques and I’m sure I’ll get to use this plate again later during the course.  Could I coin the phrase ‘Roller back-drawn’ I wonder?

About Claire B

A passionate embroiderer, a printmaker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I'm a perpetual student and love learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Print 1: Experimentation, Printmaking 1 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

