Print 1. Further sketchbook work within Assignment 2

Project 7 – working on the Hobbit house image.

Original photo, detailed drawing and first stage of simplification.

Print1-Sketch22Final detailed image.

Print1-Sketch23Separating the colour layers with black outline ready for tracing:

Print1-Sketch24After printing the first layer, this idea was abandoned.

Other Hobbiton imagery:

Print1-Sketch25Working on project 7 circles design:

Print1-Sketch26Completing circles design and commencing possible gecko design for multi-block printing:

Print1-Sketch27Developing project 7 gecko design (has not been printed at this stage):

Print1-Sketch28In my recent lesson Tony suggested I start taking a colour pull of each print range and record the mix so I can replicate when I want.  I also took a print ‘rubbing’ by placing paper over the lino and running the roller over the surface.  I like the idea of this on fabric.

Print1-Sketch29Sketchbook preparatory work for project 6 has been previously recorded.

Looking at the above it doesn’t feel like I’ve done much drawing.  This is something I need to work more on.  I won’t improve if I don’t do it often enough and it’s a great way to create ideas anyway.

About Claire B

I'm a passionate printmaker, paper-maker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I've stitched from early childhood and am a perpetual student, loving learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Print 1: Assignment 2, Print 1: Sketchbook, Printmaking 1 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

