Print 1. Assignment 2: Review

Reflection

Never would I have thought this assignment would take me this long but I feel the progress I’ve made has been worth the weeks/months of trials.

Measuring against assessment criteria:

  1. Demonstration of technical and visual skills – I spent a good amount of time on my designs and compositions and feel happy with these outcomes.  I tried a variety of papers, registration techniques, hand and press techniques and acquired new tools and equipment to improve my printing.
  2. Quality of outcome – I have confidence that my conceptualization of thoughts and communication of ideas has been well recorded in a step-by-step coherent manner.  I produced around 17 prints for each project, applying new knowledge as I learned more.  Each of the projects was revisited and improvements made on my first attempts.
  3. Demonstration of creativity – I feel that I’m still looking for my personal voice but I lean towards simplification of image, stylization and semi-abstract images.  Now that my technical difficulties have been resolved I am able to experiment more with imagination and invention.  Spending so much time learning how to print and use my equipment took away from the design aspect slightly.
  4. Context – My reflection, research and critical thinking (learning log) have been a major aspect of this assignment and I have recorded every difficulty and every obstacle I’ve found and overcome throughout.  I enjoyed researching printmakers and visiting relevant exhibitions.  These produced new ideas, stimulation and encouragement making me more determined than ever to produce good print outcomes.

At this point in the course I have made the best effort I am able and have fulfilled the criteria above to the best of my ability.

About Claire B

I'm a passionate printmaker, paper-maker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I've stitched from early childhood and am a perpetual student, loving learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Print 1: Assignment 2, Print 1: Project & Course Reviews, Printmaking 1 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Print 1. Assignment 2: Review

  1. kath says:

    congrats on finishing the assignment! the latest prints are looking great. your effort has been worthwhile

    • Claire B says:

      Thanks Kath, I’m really looking forward to getting started on the next project. Should go a bit quicker now I’m more familiar with what I’m doing.

Leave a Reply

