Print 1. Project 7: Review

During this project did you experience any problems or difficulties?  Can you identify ways to solve them?

I think it’s fair to say that the questions above have been asked and answered in every post as I’ve worked my way through this project.  Problems were encountered throughout and I’ve worked hard to find solutions spanning product usage, tools and equipment, print methods, registration variations, paper choices and layering decisions.

Being a perfectionist I’m not wholly satisfied with the outcomes I’ve achieved here but I accept that they are the best I can do at this point in my developement and I hope the assessors appreciate the effort I’ve put in.

I am confident that the aspects I’ve learned in project 7 will vastly improve my future results, as has already been proven in some small measure in some of my recent prints, and that others – such as registration difficulties – will come with more practice.

Note: Whilst I have decided to move on to the next project I may not have quite finished with this one, but will submit my work to date to my tutor for assessment.  Next week I have arranged to have a private one day lino printing lesson in order to iron out some of my remaining niggles, mainly registration movement.  I may then, at a later date, return to the multi-block printing and try again.

About Claire B

A passionate embroiderer, a printmaker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I'm a perpetual student and love learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Print 1: Assignment 2, Print 1: Project & Course Reviews, Printmaking 1 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

