Print 1. Assignment 1: Reading material

During this assignment I have referred to the following books, as well as others (recorded in the relevant posts) for research points:

Printmaking-for-beginners There aren’t many pages about monoprinting in this book but there is a lot of information crammed in to it. It also includes a good glossary and tips on both inks and different methods of monoprinting. It goes on to cover other printmaking techniques which will be useful throughout the course.

Monoprinting-handbookThis is an excellent book with a huge amount of information covering all the monoprinting techniques we have done during assignment 1. It also covers relief printing, collagraphs and something called carborundum, so I will be able to refer to it as I progress.

Printmaking-techniquesI’ve written about this book before. It has detailed step-by-step photography. It compares similar imagery using different printing techniques which helps the reader to understand the type of effects that can be obtained from each method described. It has a chapter each on monoprints, linocut, woodcut, wood engraving, collage blocks, screen-printing, drypoint, mezzotint, etching, intaglio printing and lithography. I need to refer to this one more often.

Collage-Stitch-PrintThis book has been loaned to me and concentrates on collagraphy mainly, but not exclusively, on fabric. It gives good tips on creating texture and patterning and is a publication I will be adding to my own bookshelf. My focus is very much textile/fabric based even though we are currently being asked to work on paper so this book gives me information that leans towards my personal preferences.

Other books and on-line references used for research have been acknowledged in the relevant posts.

About Claire B

I'm a passionate printmaker, paper-maker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I've stitched from early childhood and am a perpetual student, loving learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Print 1: Assignment 1, Print 1: Books & Reading Material, Printmaking 1 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

