Print 1. Assignment 1: Review

Reflection.

If I could choose only one word to describe the beginning of this course it would be Challenging.  Even though I had slightly dabbled with oil paints before I still felt like a complete beginner and it took quite a while to come to terms with the products I chose to use.

I spent far too long on this assignment, agonised over each section too much and second guessed myself over each new print subject.  I’m aware of the many failings I’ve had but also of some of the steps forward.  I’ve given it my best shot and have learned a lot and finally feel a little more confident with the whole print process.

I ensured that I met the criteria of each individual exercise and explored a wide range of papers, wet and dry, different weights and colours, smooth and textured.   I’ve also looked at various registration methods, most of which have been detailed along the way, with both hand and press transfer printing.

I’ve experimented with numerous media to create texture and patterning and have varied the size of my prints to suit different visual outcomes.  For many prints I used cut-to-size perspex plates but on other occasions I transfer printed straight from a large glass sheet covering my work area.

What I have not done is to use different types of paint products.  I chose oil paints as my primary product and, unless advised by my tutor, I’ll be sticking with them.  The reason for that is as follows: I’m not a painter, I have no experience with most paint types – water colours, acrylics, inks, gouache, etc. – and if I swap and change throughout the course I have little hope in getting any decent results as I will have to familiarise myself with each variable before being able to produce any prints.  Far better to stick to my oil paints and work on improving my results with these.  I’m sure that down the track opportunities will be presented which will enable me to use them and to also incorporate other items.

I cannot judge how I have performed in relation to what is required at this point in the course but am keen to receive the feedback from my tutor which I’m sure will give me some guidance moving forward.

About Claire B

A passionate embroiderer, a printmaker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I'm a perpetual student and love learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Print 1: Assignment 1, Print 1: Project & Course Reviews, Printmaking 1 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

