Print 1. Project 3: Backdrawing experimentation

Print1-P3-Backdrawing5I liked the idea of this print so I printed a whole lot of small images on calico.

I find this backdrawing method is extremely effective on fabric and I’ve managed to get a good transfer of ink with some subtle ‘interference’ throughout.

Once these were fully cured I cut them out and started working on them with stitch.  These small samples will be used for a swap I have coming up at the end of the year.

Print1-P3-Backdrawing10Last year I blogged about a small concertina book swap I was involved with which produced some interesting print results.  This year I’m doing a similar thing with a different group and have to produce textile samples no larger than 4.5″ x 5″.

Here’s how I have transformed some of my mini calico backdrawn outlines.  I’ve endeavoured to enhance with stitch and not hide all printing.

Print1-P3-ExperimentationJust a bit of fun and keeps my hands busy in the evenings when printing for the course is over for the day.

 

About Claire B

A passionate embroiderer, a printmaker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I'm a perpetual student and love learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in My Creative Pieces, Print 1: Assignment 1, Print 1: Experimentation, Printmaking 1 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Print 1. Project 3: Backdrawing experimentation

  1. Gail Sadleir says:

    Love the effects Claire. Looking forward to receiving one at the swap. the effects on material look deeper and ore interesting than on paper.

  2. Jane B (epocktextiles) says:

    aaaaah, the delights of doing some embroidery. They are lovely

  3. Pingback: Backdrawn contertina booklet | TactualTextiles

  4. Pingback: OCA textile student get-together in Sydney | Fibres of Being

Leave a Reply

