Print 1. Project 1: Review

Considering the slow and rocky start I had to this project I feel that I’ve made quite a bit of progress over the last few weeks.  The following are some of the things I’ve explored:

  • Using a variety of media to mark-make, including brushes (both ends), rags, cotton buds, bone folder, credit card, cocktail sticks, dabbed crumpled cling-wrap, palette knife edge.
  • A painterly approach, both abstract and realism.
  • Fully colouring the print plate with a paint-covered roller, then working back into the surface to create a design.
  • Extensive colour mixing.
  • A variety of paint thicknesses and overlaying of colours.
  • A range of imagery including flora, abstract block patterns, still-life, landscape, seascape and shading techniques.
  • Numerous print sizes.
  • A lot of different registration techniques including –
    1. Paper template under glass, with different paper sizes marked for placement.
    2. Using paper the same size as the print plate but masking the outer areas of the plate to create a smaller image (as per the tulip prints).
    3. Making a cardboard multi-layer registration boardPress-template (pictured).
    4. Measuring by eye (not always the best unless paper is to be trimmed later).
    5. Centering the print plate within masking tape markers which indicate the paper size due to be printed.
  • A range of papers including differing weights, surface texture and colour.
  • Wet and dry paper.
  • Both hand and press printing.
  • Adding a resist.

What I have not explored includes:

  • A range of print media.  I initially chose to use oil paints.  The cost outlay for these is quite high and I have decided to try to perfect my use of this media before possibly venturing into another.  Flitting from one product to another and obtaining mediocre results in them all is not what I’m after.  I intend to concentrate fully on becoming familiar with the oils I have, then incorporating some R & F oil pigment sticks further into the course.
  • Figurative drawing.  This is something I have never done and don’t feel comfortable with at this stage.  As I previously wrote, I’m not the greatest at painting and drawing but I will widen my subject matter as I progress.  My sketchbook is already showing some drawing improvement.  For this project I feel I’ve covered a reasonable range of subject matter.
About Claire B

I'm a passionate printmaker, paper-maker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I've stitched from early childhood and am a perpetual student, loving learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Print 1: Assignment 1, Print 1: Project & Course Reviews, Printmaking 1 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Print 1. Project 1: Review

  1. Very clear reflection points, Claire.

Leave a Reply

