Knit a Neuron!!

Neural Knitworks is a collaborative project about mind and brain health.  It is based on the principle that yarn craft, with its mental challenges, social connection and mindfulness, helps keep our brains and minds sharp, engaged and healthy.

The project aims to come together in time for National Science Week 16-24 August 2014.  Meantime, the more people who get involved and start knitting neurons the better and it’s envisaged that the exhibition will travel as an educational tool after the initial event.

I started with some basic 8 ply (double-knit yarn) to get the hang of the pattern I chose to follow.  The neurons can be knitted, crocheted, wrapped, wired, beaded or anything else you can think of.  I’ve chosen to knit.

Neurons-multi-1A pipe-cleaner has been pushed down the long axon (hence they look a bit bent) and the smaller dendrites around the top edge have been wired after knitting.  This is so they can be joined together with the hundreds of others underway into a huge installation.

Neurons-multi-2Now I’ve got the hang of it I’m getting more adventurous and have used a double length of variegated crochet cotton for the one on the right and a fluffy yarn for the body of the one on the left.  I liked the tails hanging so left them.

Some of the bodies are stocking stitch and some garter stitch.  Mine probably aren’t going to be prize-winners but I’m enjoying the time spending doing these in the evenings when I’m too tired to do a lot else.  I’m still knitting, so more photos will be posted once they are finished.  I’m already wondering what I’ll do with myself whilst sitting at night once this project is over.

Go to http://www.scienceweek.net.au/neural-knitworks and
https://www.facebook.com/neuralknitworks to find out more and how you can be involved.

About Claire B

A passionate embroiderer, a printmaker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I'm a perpetual student and love learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in My Creative Pieces and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Knit a Neuron!!

  1. liromad says:

    These are lovely! My mind is already buzzing about how they might be part of an explanation to expectant and new parents about their baby’s brain development. I assume you have come across http://www.stitchlinks.co.uk?

  2. Pingback: Exhibition – Neural Knitworks | TactualTextiles

  3. Jane B (epocktextiles) says:

    Oh gorgeous – somehow I didn’t look at these when you first posted them

Leave a Reply

