Assignment 5 – Stage 4: Storyboard

Making a Storyboard

P5-S4aThe creamy white thin card I’ve used for my storyboard looked a little stark so I washed it with coffee and then Gladwrap (Clingfilm) was crumpled on to the surface and left until the coffee stain was dry.  P5-S4d

Once the wrap was removed I had a surface sympathetic to my theme.  I lightly painted the other side with the same coffee mixture and found I had an interesting pattern around the outer edges where the coffee stain from the first side had travelled underneath.  In fact, I liked it so much that I’ve used that side to create my storyboard and the outer side – which folds in two – has the crumpled stain look.  I made several sheets like this and mounted some drawings on to spare pieces before applying them to the main sheet.

Fabric samples and yarn wraps were prepared and I made a few drawings in my sketchbook while deciding what to put onto the board itself.

P5-S4eItems were arranged, photographed and rearranged several times until a balanced outcome was achieved.  I applied rivets to the two sheets which make up the storyboard, lacing them together with some of the string I had used during my natural dyeing experimentation.  This provides a larger working size whilst still being able to fold and fit into my A3 postal satchel.

P5-S4cThe title of my piece is Synthesis and is determined by the following dictionary entry:

syn·the·sis
[sin-thuh-sis]
noun, plural syn·the·ses [sin-thuh-seez]

  1.  the combining of the constituent elements of separate material or abstract entities into a single or unified entity (opposed to analysis, ) the separating of any material or abstract entity into its constituent elements.
  2. a complex whole formed by combining

My board incorporates:

  • some source material.
  • fabric and yarn samples.
  • close up drawings of some sections of the piece
  • a generalized schematic of the outcome.  As sampling progresses the outcome is sure to evolve further.

Source:

http://www.dictionary.reference.com/browse/synthesis?s=t

About Claire B

I'm a passionate printmaker, paper-maker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I've stitched from early childhood and am a perpetual student, loving learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Assignment 5: Personal Project, Exploring Ideas: Sketchbook, Textiles 1: Exploring Ideas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Assignment 5 – Stage 4: Storyboard

  1. Jane (epocktextiles) says:

    you’ve done a good job here Claire

Leave a Reply

