Assignment 5 – Stage 3 & Preparation for Stage 4

Preparation for storyboard & further thoughts on inspirational material.

Whilst putting together my storyboard samples and pictures my mind has been working overtime on focal point issues on the finished work.

The more I think about my personal project the stronger I feel about my theme.  I’m now actively working on textile techniques to depict encroaching algae covering both natural ocean phenomena and man-made waste discarded and left to rot (or not) in our seas.  I have a working title for the piece and the bones of an artist statement penned to keep me on track.

Throughout this course I keep coming back again and again to the subject of rubbish, waste, non-biodegradable products, recycling and, of course, the ocean and its natural life.  Way back at the beginning I was looking at totems made from man-made sea debris.  I visited the Neil Frazer exhibition where he depicts turbulent seas magnificently.  Ed Pien has been an influence with his underwater installations (refered to several times over the past year).

Treacherous Lines BAbove: Ed Pien, Treacherous Lines (2009)

Meredith Woolnough also depicts coral and sea life with her machine stitched pieces.

Red-Coral-FanAbove: Meredith Woolnough, Red Coral Fan (2010)

Grey Matters, the amazing tidal pool created by Rita Pearce which demonstrates the way a person with dementia copes when they find themselves in an unfamiliar world, is another example of an artist I’ve explored.

Rita-1Above: Rita Pearce, Grey Matters (2013)

A couple of my own exploratory underwater photos, used earlier in the course:

A3-S4-JA3-S4-KaGhost-nets-2Brisbane Science Centre hosted Ghost Net Art, an exhibition displaying pieces woven from discarded fishing line and ghost nets.

The artist, Aly de Groot, aims to highlight our unsustainable living practices, which result in extreme ‘rubbishing’ of the sea.

Ghost-nets-1

All these references are pulling me towards creating my own artistic interpretation of the thoughtlessness of humanity relating to the production and disposal of non-biodegradable products.

During Assignment 3 Stage 2 Workshop 1 I explored knotted net techniques and discovered it is illegal in Australia for fishing shops to stock and sell netting needles as a routine.  The reasons are detailed in my earlier post.  So damaged fishing nets, in general, are not repaired and are thrown away – into the ocean – and new ones are purchased.

I Googled ‘discarded fishing nets’ and came up with a lot of horrific images of strangled, maimed and dead sea-life and birds and I was forced to close the screen immediately.  Whilst it turned my stomach it also provided the basis of an idea to create some discordance and conflict within my project by incorporating synthetic netting as a counterbalance to the natural evolution of plant life as it advances over a rocky sea bed.

The following pictures come from The Sydney Morning Herald on-line and relate to the SMH article I posted on 9th March 2014.

Sydney-harbour-1Sydney-harbour-2Sydney-harbour-3These last few blog posts may seem repetitive and overlapping but by recording my thoughts they have served to clarify and solidify my direction and future work progression.  The process of writing, and viewing images, helps untangle my jumbled thoughts and I have a clearer vision of what I am aiming to achieve.

Sources:

http://www.edpien.com

http://www.meredithwoolnough.com.au/gallery.html#!prettyPhoto/8/

http://www.smh.com.au

About Claire B

A passionate embroiderer, a printmaker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I'm a perpetual student and love learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Assignment 5: Personal Project, Textiles 1: Exploring Ideas and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Assignment 5 – Stage 3 & Preparation for Stage 4

  1. fibresofbeing says:

    I think you’re adding real richness and depth, pulling together and layering all these different ideas.

    • Claire B says:

      Thanks Judy. This process has helped my ideas to evolve and crystallize some of what I want to include which will, hopefully, put across my message.
      In assignment 1, way back when, my tutor pointed out that my road signs messages weren’t obvious and the pieces didn’t exhibit any meaning. I’ve worked a lot on this for my current project and hope it will be better understood.

Leave a Reply

