Month 4 of the Monthly Challenge

Last month the folder I received was based on circles and swirls.

I was provided with a 20cm square of red handmade felt as the base and some other fabrics and threads which I could choose from if I wished.

I’m working on my free machine embroidery skills at present so I initially concentrated on creating circular bubbles on different surfaces, to explore the effects.

HM-circlesA strip of crinkle chiffon was held in place with deep brown velvet tacked over the seam allowance.  The velvet was then stitched in circles with some areas being more built up.  This created the lovely raised pile shapes.  A 12wt yarn was used to satin stitch the edging.

The long woven bars were hand stitched with Perle 5 cotton  and tiny flat sequins attached with beads.

Pale yellow and pink threads were machine-stitched on the plain red felt areas and they have created a dimension with  minimal colour difference.

The larger rings are free-standing buttonhole circles made around my fingers and later stitched in place.

A bit of fun and very enjoyable.

 

About Claire B

I'm a passionate printmaker, paper-maker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I've stitched from early childhood and am a perpetual student, loving learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in My Creative Pieces and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Month 4 of the Monthly Challenge

  1. Jane B says:

    FME on the velvet piece is very effective. Might have to try some myself today – thanks for the idea

    • Claire B says:

      I put a layer of Solvy on top of the velvet to stop the stitches disappearing into the pile. Once it was washed away I got a really good stitch effect without them sinking into the base. It’s the same technique when you embroider on towels with a pile.
      Post your results on your blog. Would love to have a look.

Leave a Reply

