Spring has sprung !!

The temperature is hot, the sun is shining and the plants are coming into bloom.  Spring has arrived.

A little recent sketchbook work:

AnemonePlumbagoBluebellSidesaddle

About Claire B

I'm a passionate printmaker, paper-maker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I've stitched from early childhood and am a perpetual student, loving learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Exploring Ideas: Sketchbook, Textiles 1: Exploring Ideas and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Spring has sprung !!

  1. Phil says:

    Lovely flowers!

  2. Jane B says:

    I have bluebells flowering (well, wilting in this heat and wind), but they are nothing like this!

    • Claire B says:

      These drawings are based on some sketches by Judith Baker Montano where some artistic licence has been applied I would say. Mind you, on gettyimages.com.au there are some bluebell pics which aren’t that different, fairly pale purples and not quite such the bell shape that we expect.
      One of her sketches called dandelion I feel should be renamed carnation.
      Maybe I should check google images before naming them as I’m no plant expert – and I know you are, Jane.

  3. fibresofbeing says:

    Really lovely!

    • Claire B says:

      Thanks, Judy. Something a bit more at my level of expertise and I enjoy drawing them. It makes me pick the pencils up more often when it is something that interests me. I like the stylised appearance of them, not too precise that it becomes a burden to draw but close enough to recognise the plants.

  4. Pingback: Assignment 3 – Sketchbook work | TactualTextiles

Leave a Reply

