Assignment 3 Stage 2: Workshop 4

Woven Structures

Nishi-SketchIn Canberra last week we visited the Nishi NewActon apartment complex and surrounding precinct.  My husband and I own an investment real estate and financing business and frequently check out new and innovative living options for both ourselves and our clients to invest in.  This is one of them.  I’ll write more about this amazing place later.

The picture here is the front cover of the promotional brochure for Nishi and I was immediately struck by the building sketch and how it relates to my current netting and grid structures.  Over several days I mulled over how to create a woven net / mesh based around this visual.

I set myself some guidelines:

  • Having just completed a very reduced colour palette piece for my stitched net I chose a riot of colour this time.
  • To fit with the sustainability, recycling and reusing theme of Nishi I used old translucent beads from something I took apart some time ago and bits of organza from my scrap bag of leftovers.
  • I wanted a rigid structure to match the solidity of the building so chose wire as my warp (sorry, not recycled).

Woven-1I made 50 organza beads.  I wrapped strips around a skewer and blasted them with the heat gun until I achieved the shrunken, hardened, crusty bead look.  They were then laid out in a rough weft grid formation and the beads were inserted.  The yellow and brown glass beads are laid in a diagonal, top left to bottom right, with one larger yellow one towards the top right as a feature.  The clear beads, being attached to the warp, are representing light filtering through the apartments, a huge feature of the building which has been architecturally designed to maximise the effects of natural daylight, thereby reducing electrical usage.

Wire warpI warped up the frame with 22 gauge colour coated copper wire.  This flew about everywhere and each pair were clamped when not in use.  One end had to remain unattached from the frame to allow twisting around the weft as I wove.

Weaving the beadsThe beads were threaded with orange hemp cord and woven along the warp.  At the ends, a wire coil was threaded onto the warp and the weft cord was threaded up through this to the next row start point.

The wire warp was twisted in pairs to hold the weft in place and I made the distances between rows uneven to keep the effect of the original Nishi sketch which is somewhat loose in its interpretation of the building.

Once finished, the hemp cord ends were woven in and I twisted the wire ends into loose random coils.

Woven-4I’m still looking at it and am tempted to cut off the coils, particularly at the top.

Yes, they’re not quite working for me.

Woven - Sun behindOn the left is the piece hanging with the sun behind it so the grid looks dull and the ground shadow is very pronounced.

Woven-5Woven-6The above two pictures show the grid from the other side with the sun fully shining on it.  The translucent beads are plastic which doesn’t reflect the light as much as glass but I have to be conscious of weight in my work as these items will be posted to the UK for marking and we have certain restrictions in place.

 

About Claire B

A passionate embroiderer, a printmaker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I'm a perpetual student and love learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Assignment 3: Reveal & Conceal, Exploring Ideas: Museums, Galleries, Etc., Textiles 1: Exploring Ideas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Assignment 3 Stage 2: Workshop 4

  1. Phil says:

    The Nishi design is strikingly original and it is interesting to see how it inspired you with your own woven design. Well done!

  2. Pingback: Assignment 3 Stage 3 | TactualTextiles

Leave a Reply

