Art on Paper

I’m currently working on knitted nets and was able to visit Hazelhurst Regional Gallery and Arts Centre to view their Art on Paper exhibition which showcases a marvellous full-length knitted gown, amongst some other outstanding pieces.

The exhibition shows new works by 96 artists in a competition created with, on, or about paper.

Here I am showing the work of Betty Bird.  Her artist statement says:

Betty-BirdThe first thing that caught my eye was the wording ‘cut by hand with a metal ruler and knife’.  Even if it was A3 size copy paper that is still a huge task – then all the gluing together.  Now that is seriously time-consuming.

I’ve seen these large French knitting frames, they come in various shapes for different purposes and I’ve always wondered how popular they are.  It’s a coincidence that I should have seen this artwork just as I, myself, am in the middle of some French knitting for the knitted nets section of the course.  I remember as a child having an old wooden cotton reel with 4 nails banged in the top and a crochet hook to flip the thread over for each stitch.  I’ve evolved a bit further than that these days and now have a gadget with a rotary arm which speeds up the process, thank heavens.

Anyway, back to Betty Bird and her artwork.

Betty-Bird-1Betty-Bird-2And a close-up of some of the knitting …..

Betty-Bird-3

 

About Claire B

I'm a passionate printmaker, paper-maker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I've stitched from early childhood and am a perpetual student, loving learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Assignment 3: Reveal & Conceal, Exploring Ideas: Museums, Galleries, Etc., Textiles 1: Exploring Ideas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Art on Paper

  1. Jane Bodnaruk says:

    did you see the paper dress in Spectrum this morning – on one of the pages about books

  2. Claire B says:

    Yes, I did see it. Go to http://www.mymodernmet.com/profiles/blogs/jorimoo-book-dress for some amazing pictures of the whole dress made from dictionary pages.

Leave a Reply

