A short interlude

Having posted my OCA assignment off I thought a few days concentrating elsewhere was in order.

*************

Dandelion Clocks (blog post of 20th June) was the first small project in a round robin challenge I recently joined.  We are groups of 6, each with our own theme, and we complete a 20 x 20cm piece each month before passing the folder on to the next person.

Last month the theme I was sent related to the 1950s, this month it is all about India and I’ve been given a colour palette to work within.

KK1I started by selecting a black cotton fabric as my base and then painted some Vliesofix with shimmering metallic paints.  I love the way the paper backing crinkles up and it breaks up the intensity of the surface once adhered to the fabric.

KK2Before ironing down the Vliesofix I sprinkled Audrey’s Bond glue flakes onto the fabric and ironed a gold foil sheet on top.  This has given me the lovely gold sprinkle effect.  The painted Vliesofix squares went on the top.

KK3Next I tacked 2 rows of pink gimp in place and zig-zagged in rayon over the top to give me the grid.

Using embossed copper shim, colour coated wire, beads, thread and jewellery findings I filled in each section to complete my golden tribute to India.

KK4KK5

About Claire B

A passionate embroiderer, a printmaker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I'm a perpetual student and love learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Exploring Ideas: Musings, My Creative Pieces and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A short interlude

  1. Jane Bodnaruk says:

    very nice

Leave a Reply

