Assignment 2 – Printing with discharge paste: Part 2

The results.

It didn’t take long for the discharge paste to dry so I could steam my samples.  My TUD instructions tell me to hover the iron over the fabric and I should see the colour fade.  Once it is at the stage I like I should stop and then wash the remainder of the product out.

DP 5It worked on the home dyed fabric quite quickly.  The smell was pretty awful but the effect was fantastic, until the iron spat water onto my piece as I was about finished.

DP 8Whilst this wasn’t what I wanted it did give some interesting water stains which can be seen in the close-up.

DP 6The dark grey cotton, commercially dyed, was much harder to activate and took longer to discharge.  I didn’t let it go so far and could have done a bit more so the effect is stronger.  On the green the powder resist is quite evident around the outer edges of the pattern but I’ve lost it completely on the grey.DP 7  On the second grey sample I slowly swung the iron from side to side so the steam holes – aligned along the outer edges of the iron – moved laterally across the piece.  Hence the discharge pattern.

So, not a bad result considering the TUD never really dissolved properly.

About Claire B

A passionate embroiderer, a printmaker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I'm a perpetual student and love learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Assignment 2: Screen Printing, Textiles 1: Exploring Ideas and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Assignment 2 – Printing with discharge paste: Part 2

  1. jane b says:

    Its pretty daunting trying a new practical activity on your own – you’ve attacked it with great organization and patience. Good job!

    • Claire B says:

      Hi Jane. Screen printing with the dyes and discharge paste certainly haven’t been the easiest things to learn on my own at home and I’ve had lots of things go wrong but I’m getting there. One or two people have very kindly sent me a couple of good tips for next time I mix products up, so my resource folder is growing at least.

Leave a Reply

