Cultural fusion – Stage 4 Functional Design

Lizard Bed Linen Design.

I have chosen to develop one of my lizard designs into a repeat pattern suitable for bed linen.  I’m specifically concentrating on pillow slip edging and a larger bed runner design. However, I can see that there may be scope to widen and further elaborate the design into a duvet cover pattern.  Below are some of the points I have taken into consideration:

Current TrendsPantone Colour Of The Year 2013 is Emerald 17-5641.  It is described on their site as lively, radiant, energetic and lush.  I want to use green but emerald doesn’t convey the message I want to send, which is a calming, relaxed, safe bedroom environment.  However, having read much further, I see that several designers are still touting green for this year, albeit not emerald.

Both Dixie Stark ofDixie Stark Interiors and Erica Woelfel, director of colour from Behr Paints agree that green is the current focus.  Erica says “…… the options are endless.  Surrounding yourself with green is one of the easiest ways to calm down and relax. ….. it is about getting back to nature….”  As my focus is on lizards and terrain I’m focussed on using green as my main colour with some grey and possibly some deep brown.  Erica has some excellent green palette samples on her site here which I have used as a basis for my own colour choices.

Elizabeth Noack, an interior designer with Faulkner Design Group explains “It’s (the bedroom) a place to feel quiet, serene and peaceful.”  My own sentiments exactly.

She Knows Home and Garden has a section with tips to refresh your bedroom including a) pick one colour from your bedding and paint your walls to match or select a rug that complements the pattern or colour and b) spice up your room with this years’ hottest colours: Orange, green or grey.

There is a whole host of information on the net and in reference books regarding colour trends and I could go on and on quoting designers and trend forecasters but, to summarise, they seem to be towards greens and the ever popular neutral grey with a splash of something to enliven the palette where required.

The pattern trends seem to be extremely wide-ranging and almost anything goes in the bedding department.  I guess they try to cover all personalities and desires.  Linens go from large, minimalist, reduced colour palette, crisp simple shapes right through to fussy multicoloured floral extravaganzas.  I’m looking at the un-cluttered, muted, calming aspect in my design.  Something that can be used over time without becoming outdated too quickly and with options to include other furnishings in the same colour range without the room becoming overbearing.Bedding 1

Bedding 2

Bedding 3

Mood & Theme:  The lizard has a long history in Australian art and textiles and I wish to continue this.  I hope my design and colour choice will create a harmonious and restful environment for relaxing at the end of the day.

Thread optionsColour Range:  Neutral grey and  greens, some variegated threads to give tonal variation.

A trip to my local paint store provided a range of paint sample cards for me to consider for my colour choices.  I find this a brilliant way to see a large display of colour whilst being able to pick up the individual cards and group them in various formations to achieve different results and moods.

Techniques:  Obviously bedding has to be hard-wearing, washable and with a two-dimensional design.  A repeat stencil pattern enhanced by some minimal hand or machine stitching has been at the forefront of my mind from the beginning.  Appliqué could also be an option and looks very attractive on bedding as fabric patterns and colour changes can be introduced through these materials.Lizard repeat pattern

The finished design:  To the left is the finished pillow slip edging pattern.  The picture is deliberately small so the repeat pattern can easily be seen (as if from a distance across a room).  It measures 52cm x 15,5cm.  Lizard part patternBelow is a close up of a section.

The lizard has been created using the stencil I designed and cut earlier in the assignment.  I used R&F Oil Pigment sticks to apply the colour.  these have been cured and then heat set.  By using two grey tones I hoped to create a depth to the image.  The stitched edge is backstitch in a grey variegated silk yarn I dyed.

The remainder has been hand stitched.  I considered machining it but thought there would be an enormous amount of loose ends to tie off as it is an ‘open ended’ grid so to speak.  Digitized machining can have the machine reverse back over exactly the same line so eliminating this problem.  The grid is backstitched in a forest green Perle 8 cotton.  The stylised boulders/stones/rocks have been backstitched using a variegated silk yarn I dyed in numerous green tones, then whipped to give a solid and more dimensional appearance.  Each one, whilst roughly in the round, are a little different in shape and the variegated thread also adds some variation.

Much of what I planned has come through in the sample but if it were to be used on a bed runner and/or a duvet it would need to be extended and have more variety within it.  Perhaps some simple foliage or changes in the rocks, some may be appliquéd to add further dimension and colour.  Cushion pics

These cushions have simple bold floral designs which give a good indication of how some stencilled gum leaves, fallen gumnuts or blossom could look stencilled onto my larger piece.  These could be enhanced with stitched detail, or another option would be to appliqué them in place and then stitch.

EI P1 S4 StoryboardAbove – storyboard design script (i.e. planning and order of work before commencing visuals), resource bibliography and bedding samples.

EI P1 S4 Storyboard 1Above – storyboard visual ideas and colour considerations.

Resources:
http://www.pantone.com/pages/pantone/index.aspx
http://www.sheknows.com/home-and-gardening/articles/981277/bedroom-design-trends-for-2013
http://www.colorfullybehr.com/index.php/extreme-green/
http://www.faulknerdesign.com/
http://www.sheknows.com/home-and-gardening/articles/946039/bedroom-decor-for-your-personality
http://www.hhrj.org/bedroom-design-with-simple-ideas/
http://www.furniture4world.blogspot.com.au/2011/07/luxury-modern-bedding-design-2011.html
http://www.hit-decor.net/page/61/

About Claire B

I'm a passionate printmaker, paper-maker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I've stitched from early childhood and am a perpetual student, loving learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Assignment 1: Cultural Fusion, Textiles 1: Exploring Ideas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

