Cultural Fusion – Stage 3b Creating a Portfolio

Road Signs Totem Design.

These samples are all visual story ideas for my more conceptual and expressive totem piece that will be developed in stage 4.

Concentrating on road sign imagery I have started designing some of my own.  These are my own personal messages that have meaning to me but might not translate for others.

Green is for goThe typical Stop/Go sign.

The red section is covered with a fine black mesh to reduce the strength of the colour and has then been crossed through by using a machine cross stitch in diagonal lines.  Red light waves are the first to hit our eyes meaning that red is very dominant so the idea here is to negate the Stop section both in colour and by using the recognised symbol of a cross as opposed to a tick.

The green is very vibrant and comes to the fore and is where the eye should focus.

My message is: Get Up and Go.  Don’t stop, sit back and be a spectator in life – instead be alive, stay involved, participate, evolve and enjoy.

Off leash dogsA different dog sign than is normally seen.

Having been a scale model maker in the past making the collar and lead was fun and has come out very well.

I’ve used my rusted fabric as the background to indicate the beach, which is where we take our dogs.  Dog beaches are few and far between and we drive 45 minutes to our closest and only one.

My message is: Happy dogs run free.  Support off-leash areas for dogs.

Say it with flowersThis next sign is looking down on a flowering plant.

The background is two layers of painted Vliesofix, stipple stitched.  The leaves are painted and stitched Lutradur and the flowers are painted Tyvek that has been cut, layered and heat distorted to create the leaf and petal shapes.

My message is: Whatever the message, say it with flowers.

ChampagneThese champagne glasses have been created using my rusted fabric as the champagne with colonial knots as the bubbles.

The outlines of the glasses were first straight stitched on the machine and then covered with a narrow satin stitch.

They’re a little wobbly but I’m happy with the result as my machining experience is limited – something I am currently working on.

My message is:  If you’re going to drink Champagne, buy the best you can afford.

Sparkling wine can only be called Champagne if it is from the Champagne region in France.  However, in day-to-day speech the word is still routinely used to encompass ‘bubbly’ wherever it is made.

Stand outThis next sample only has the pink lady pinned in place as I mull over exactly what visual I actually want there.

This sign may not look that exciting but it took an absolute age to precisely cut and place the 28 identical motifs.  I used the rusted fabric as the base as I felt white would be too stark.

My message is:  Don’t hide in the crowd, have self belief and stand up and be counted.

I’ve really enjoyed creating these pieces and am now working on how to create a cohesive contemporary art piece from this starting point.

About Claire B

I'm a passionate printmaker, paper-maker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I've stitched from early childhood and am a perpetual student, loving learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Assignment 1: Cultural Fusion, Textiles 1: Exploring Ideas and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cultural Fusion – Stage 3b Creating a Portfolio

  1. fibresofbeing says:

    An interesting collection – all with positive and proactive messages but created in different ways. I like the rust fabric that links a number of the signs.

Leave a Reply

