Ausecoart Exhibition

Scott Cardamatis and Joseph Saad work from their Sydney studio producing some original works that represent Australia and its unique plant life, showcasing native seeds and pods.  I have been lucky enough to view some of their work and been allowed to photograph it.  Unfortunately I don’t have the titles of the pieces and their website is currently unavailable.

PS 1OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis piece is around 3m in length and in the close up you can see the individual pods used.

I love the natural colours of these and as I looked through the works I found that these colours really unified the exhibition as a whole.

PS 2PS 2 close upThe above piece easily covered 4 metres and was very spectacular.  The contrast between the hundreds of upended gumnuts against the larger swish of the curve was quite dramatic.  I think of this as the tail of a kangaroo hopping past just out of shot.  I wonder what the artists had in mind or if it is a purely abstract piece.

The flash of the camera has given quite an interesting colour variation to the close-up picture.

PS 3 I suspect I forgot to change the camera setting from close-up for this next piece because I don’t have one decent sharp picture of the complete piece.

PS 3 close upAgain the flash has given an interested dimension to the colours when I got closer – and it’s sharper.

PS 4This last piece was a long way from me and I wasn’t able to get closer.  It was very dark in the area and many people were moving in front of it so it ended up being a very quick snap.  Whilst trying to improve it on Photoshop I tried the Auto Tone button and came out with something completely unexpected …. but delightful.  Nothing like the actual piece of work but some brilliant colours.  Just a bit of fun.

PS 4 auto toneThe artists have had their work used internationally to showcase Australia in its natural form.  They have installations in places such as a large shopping mall in Shanghai, a mediation centre in north America, Capella Lodge on Lord Howe Island and other hotels and resorts, international law firms, the Green Building Council of Australia, various Government offices and agencies including NSW Lotteries, the Sydney Royal Botanic Gardens and Mount Tomah Botanic Gardens.

I don’t think I would want one in my home but they seem very appropriate for large foyers and public spaces where art works are integral parts of the decor without necessarily depicting too much conflict or emotion.

Resources:
http://www.viewexhibits.com.au/ViEWArt/ScottCardamatis.aspx

About Claire B

A passionate embroiderer, a printmaker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I'm a perpetual student and love learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Exploring Ideas: Museums, Galleries, Etc., Textiles 1: Exploring Ideas and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

