Sketchbook work

Some recent sketchbook work.

The piece above was inspired by my new book Glorious Papers by Ruth Issett.

Here I was playing with my fine tipped Artline pens so, obviously, there is no subtlety in the colour scheme.

I had stitching in mind – long and short, buttonhole, fly stitch, colonial knots and whipped back or stem stitch.

Must be a place I can include beautiful Palestrina knots.

This cup and saucer took me ages to do.  It’s not from a real object but from a picture on a serviette that I worked on previously (see Workshops and Classes category – Stitching on Serviettes).  I used that picture to help me get the shading right.  I’m quite pleased with it and feel my eye for detail seems to be getting a little better.  The hand still wobbles though.

Resources:
Ruth Issett, Glorious Papers, Techniques for Applying Colour to Paper, B T Batsford Ltd, London, 2001.

About Claire B

I'm a passionate printmaker, paper-maker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I've stitched from early childhood and am a perpetual student, loving learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Sketchbook, Textiles 1: A Creative Approach. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sketchbook work

  1. Pingback: LINKS to ARTISTS’ SKETCHBOOKS ONLINE « not such a dumbass after all!

Leave a Reply

