Assignment 2: A Reflective Commentary

Again, as with the earlier parts of the course, I’ve enjoyed the challenges set and the discipline in completing exercises which build and develop as the various stages are completed.

In project 3 I was particularly happy to finally make the time to paint the colour wheel using both warm and cool primary colours in full.  The visual benefit in seeing how differently they mix has been extremely helpful.  Some of the painterly work gave surprising results and my eye for colour, both consciously looking at it and recognising the base origin (i.e. colours mixed to achieve others), has definitely improved.  I am much more aware of what I am seeing and this has been evident when I’ve visited galleries and exhibitions.

I found the colour exercises using thread and fabric much easier and flowing.  I progressed through them at a good pace and with pleasing results.

Project 4 I simply couldn’t get enough of.  The designing aspect is extremely stimulating and, whilst I’m not fabulous at drawing, I am finding a voice and a style that works well for me.  I’m also discovering the media I like to work with.  It was no surprise to find that I prefer pens, pencils and oil sticks – dry items – rather than paints.  Although last week I did buy a set of water colours to give them a go.

I found the exercises well thought out with good progression which kept the design work interesting and evolving.  I feel that I have made a good foundation to continue using as I move through the next sections.

The printing in Project 5 was an opportunity to really explore some of my designs from the previous section and this value added to the activities here.  It is much more satisfying to try out things using your own resources rather than commercially available items.  Using both different surfaces to print on and different layouts has given me more ideas to work on later.  I spent some time during this project exploring some of my textbooks to find how the authors produced their wonderful pieces and this reminded me how important research can be.  By doing this it enabled me to build a wider range of stamps and blocks using different products as well as dimensional rollers and stencils.

My work reflects my personality, my preferences and my self-expression.  As long as I continue to follow my own path and produce trials and errors of my own making, learning from these and improving, I will continue to be fulfilled in what I am doing and where I am going.  I am so glad I signed up for this course.

About Claire B

A passionate embroiderer, a printmaker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I'm a perpetual student and love learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Assignment 2: Colour, Design, Printing & Painting, Project Reviews, Textiles 1: A Creative Approach. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

