Project 5 – Stage 1

Reviewing fabrics for painting and printing.

The brief is to pick at least a dozen textile surfaces on which to print or paint.  Neutral or plain coloured fabrics have been suggested although we can use other interesting fabrics as we wish.

I’ve swapped, added and deleted fabrics from my ‘working’ pile until I’m finally happy that I have a good selection to start with.  I’ve decided to use white, cream, beige and muted yellow colours initially and I’ll see what develops from there.  I want to concentrate on the printing and not be distracted by pre-patterned fabrics.

Fabric choices

The base fabric they are arranged on is hessian – which I will be using.

Top row left to right:  good quality medium weight cotton, the same in pale yellow, silk velvet, silk noil, silk organza, open weave soft cotton.

Bottom row left to right:  thick textural furnishing fabric, white muslin, rubber backed curtaining (yes, I’m using the rubber side), pale yellow fairly stiff cotton and – I suspect – polyester blend, cream wool felt, watermarked taffeta (or possibly Antung silk), polyester sateen.

About Claire B

I'm a passionate printmaker, paper-maker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I've stitched from early childhood and am a perpetual student, loving learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Assignment 2: Colour, Design, Printing & Painting, Project 5, Textiles 1: A Creative Approach. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

