Project 4 – Review

Q:  Did you manage to ‘make space move’?
A:  Yes I think I did.  I particularly like the piece entitled Increasing confusion.  The squares start off in a neat pile and then begin drifting away and I feel helpless to stop them or gather them back into order.  I’m thinking “what can I do?”
The other one I like is entitled Alone.  The distance between the ‘one’ and the group seems like a leap too far.  That ‘one’ is destined to remain alone, on the outer looking in.  I feel an enormous tension in the white space between the single black square and the overlapping ones.  Obviously others may not feel this but I have a very personal interpretation of this formation and positioning of pieces.

Q:  What are your thoughts about the drawings you did in Stage 3?
A:  I’ve done quite a bit of reviewing of the exercises as I’ve gone along but I can add here that I’ve thoroughly enjoyed this section.  I’m not great at realistic drawing or sketching and I’m unlikely to ever be but the enjoyment I have got from playing with abstract drawing has been terrific.  To know that there is scope to develop further enticing samples from some doodles in my sketchbook has been a great boost.

Q:  Were you able to use your drawings successfully as a basis for further work?  Are there any other things you would like to try?
A:  I spent a lot of time working on my drawings, adding and deleting bits, manipulating and changing sizes and shapes, working in different colourways and media, simplifying and so on and I feel like I’ve only just begun.  There must be hundreds of ideas that haven’t even occurred to me yet.  Is there anything else I want to try?  Of course.  I need 100 hours in the day and then I could  explore how to push a design and evolve it so far as to be unrecognisable as coming from the original and be an outstanding piece in its own right.

Q:  Now that you have a good working method, do you feel confident that you can carry on working in this way independently?
A:  Yes.  Working this way is stimulating, it produces unexpected results and continually opens doors to more ideas and possibilities.

Other:

I’ve really enjoyed the designing and am slowly learning what my preferences are, my style is becoming more obvious to me and I’m starting to understand where I feel comfortable, where I need to push and what seems like a chore or is less preferred than other things.

About Claire B

A passionate embroiderer, a printmaker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I'm a perpetual student and love learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Project 4, Project Reviews, Textiles 1: A Creative Approach. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

