Project 4 – Stage 2 Exercise 4

Drawing from real objects.

Wire spools & pliersI set up my collection of objects, moved them around many a time, and looked at them for a while before deciding what I wanted to try to show in my drawing interpretation.

The brief is to be aware of what it is that I find interesting about my group of objects and put across my point of view or attitude.

In the back of my mind I can visualise a drawing of some pliers I saw a while ago.  They were amazing.  I can’t remember where I saw the picture but from that memory I have chosen to try to concentrate on shading and tonal differences.

Drawing trialsI started with an H pencil on the wire reel but couldn’t get enough emphasis on the wound wire so I went over the wire parts with a black fine fibre tipped pen.  It looked a lot better, more defined, and gave me the idea to abandon my original thought of using coloured pencils and just go with the fibre tipped pen.  It would be a test of my stroke work to see if I could achieve different tonal effects with the one implement.  So I had a go at drawing the nylon jaws of the pliers with the pen.  No room for mistakes that’s for sure.  OK, so back to the pencil first then when it is about right go over the design with pen and fill in the shading after.

I referred to my textbook, which I have been trying to follow from time to time, regarding getting proportions right and I drew a divided box to help me get the lengths and angles better placed on the pliers.

Proportion trialsWhen I felt I was getting the idea I bit the bullet and started on my final piece.

I wasn’t required to draw the entire grouping in detail, just pick out an area I wanted to work on.  The pliers were it.

Pliers drawingI found this exercise incredibly hard.  It took me ages, much more than the hour we were recommended to spend on it.  It doesn’t look like much for the amount of time I spent but I hope that I’ll get quicker as time goes by and I do more.

Realism is very hard – rewarding and satisfying when you finish something but tough to achieve.

My question from this exercise is:  How do you draw good ovals (as in the ends of my wire spools) without wobbling, taking your hand off the page and not being able to do one continual line?

Anyone out there reading this who feels they would like to answer please do.  I’m happy to take any and all advice.

About Claire B

I'm a passionate printmaker, paper-maker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I've stitched from early childhood and am a perpetual student, loving learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Assignment 2: Colour, Design, Printing & Painting, Project 4, Textiles 1: A Creative Approach. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

