Project 4 – Stage 2 Exercise 2

Emphasising a point of view in drawing.

In my chosen image it is the shapes which most interest me and that is where I have concentrated.Simplified imageSimplified image inverted

I took my simplified design from exercise 1 and inverted the colours on the computer to see what would happen.  The lovely little white rings surprised me but the rest was too bland.

The most interesting shapes, and the ones I felt I could develop more from the original picture, were the spines within the petal shape – missing from my simplified image.

Bronchial treesThings that initially came to mind were bronchial trees: Image from medscape.com.  Frost water crystal on glassFrost or snow crystals: Image from wikipedia.org/wiki/Fractal – and of course the many images of a diverse amount of fractals available on the net.

I re-drew my design increasing the size of the ‘petals’ to enable me to work on the inner spines.  Having done that I decided to resize the comma shapes, reducing them, so they didn’t overshadow my spines and then I drew in the rings.

P4 Stage 2 Ex 2I wasn’t looking at colour, I liked the starkness of the black and white, but there was something missing.  Despite my work on the spines I wasn’t getting a stimulating feel from the piece and it didn’t feel quite finished.  So I coloured in the rings with blood red and I think it’s done the trick quite well and given me more focal interest.

About Claire B

A passionate embroiderer, a printmaker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I'm a perpetual student and love learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Assignment 2: Colour, Design, Printing & Painting, Project 4, Textiles 1: A Creative Approach. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Project 4 – Stage 2 Exercise 2

  1. Jane says:

    Very nice – love seeing the progression of ideas

  2. fibresofbeing says:

    I agree with Jane – it’s a really interesting progression, and along the way you’ve generated lots of potential for future explorations. I love that you added the spines back in, and the final design looks great.

Leave a Reply

