Colour Exercises in machining

Whilst this isn’t formally part of Project 3 because I am concentrating on hand stitching during this course I did want to try out some fabric and machined stitch combinations of colour.  So below are a few things I played around with.  I first recorded the settings I had on my sewing machine because I find it hard to remember the tension or the screen auto and manual options I need.

Machine settings

After the recent pointillist exercises I’m really happy to see great colour changes in some of the samples here.  I’ve done very small free machine stitches going backwards and forwards to build up small dense patches of colour.  Many of the areas look like tiny dots close up but when viewed from a distance I can really see the altered colour effects.

Prime colour samples

After using prime colours I went to secondary colours.

Secondary colours

Complimentary coloursYellow samplesComplimentary thread on prime colour fabrics looks excellent – very sharp and clear.  I then played with different yellows and oranges in the needle and threw in a bit of complimentary purple underneath for one sample.

Red tonal samplesFinally I had a look at red.  Here I mixed the colour to try to produce a tint – with white, a shade – with black and a reduced saturation (lesser value) – with grey.

It’s the first time I’ve done free machining using more than one thread in the needle at a time.  I’ve learned a lot, not only about colour mixing but also about free motion embroidery.  These are only small samples but I certainly went through a ton of thread.

About Claire B

A passionate embroiderer, a printmaker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I'm a perpetual student and love learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Assignment 2: Colour, Design, Printing & Painting, Project 3, Textiles 1: A Creative Approach. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

