Project 3 – Stage 4

Exercise 2 – Matching fabric & thread colours to pictures.
Colour moods & themes.

The picture below has been taken from Australian Geographic magazine, Volume 103, July/Aug 2011, Page 73 and depicts 20-year-old pines at Sunny Corner State Forest, near Portland, NSW.  Photograph by Bill Hatcher.

Stage 4 Ex 2A

Sunny Corner State Forest

Stage 4 Ex 2

The mood portrayed by the photograph gives me a feeling of comfortable aloneness, warmth, welcoming, and untroubled.

I tried desperately hard to get a good photo of the work but, as can be seen, the scanned and re-photographed picture has lost a lot of its intensity.  Never mind, the better image is above.

I enjoyed scrabbling through my stash looking for matching colours to make a colour bag.  I’m especially fond of the dyed velvet (dyed by Cecile Whatman of Unique Stitching) and the multicoloured cotton next to it (dyed in Indonesia, supplied by Reece Scannell).  The other variegated fabrics I have dyed myself along with some of the green threads.  I have included a stretch furnishing fabric sample and some nylon organza because I like the idea of working with different media.  The threads include crewel wool, Perle 5, medium weight silk, silk ribbon and stranded cotton.

* * * * * * * * * * *

On December 10th/11th 2011 (depending on where you were at the time in the world)  the Moon entered a lunar eclipse.

I scoured the NASA website for good images the following morning but they were sadly lacking, which is pretty unusual for them – but I could have missed them because their site is so hard to navigate.  I found the following image at http://blog.seattlepi.com/thebigblog/ with the text below:

The Moon enters a total eclipse as seen in Bangkok on December 10, 2011. The total eclipse of the Moon turned the lunar surface into a shade of red. (NICOLAS ASFOURI / AFP/Getty Images)

Stage 4 Ex 2 EclipseHow could I resist using this as a source of colour inspiration?  For anyone who wants to know why the Moon appears red  click on Video for an explanation of lunar eclipse – and this I did find from NASA.

The image feels mysterious, mystical, spiritual and unknown.  Unexplored and ‘waiting’ also come to mind.

Stage 4 Ex 2 EclipseLooking through my fabrics I came across this wonderful piece which had every colour I needed.  I bought it from Susan Cooper (author of The Textile Touch) much to her horror because she was using it as her tablecloth at a textiles sales event.

The crumpled brown & cream piece of silk is a Stef Francis dyed piece, there are also some commercial cottons and my own ‘dyeing by accident’ piece at the bottom left.

Threads include silks, cottons, wool, viscose tubular ribbon and fancy fluffy stuff.

Looking at the picture it doesn’t seem like some of the colours are correct but when holding the threads against the photo in ‘real life’ so to speak, they are a very good likeness.

I’ve loved this exercise and am looking forward to using my colour bags.

About Claire B

A passionate embroiderer, a printmaker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I'm a perpetual student and love learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Assignment 2: Colour, Design, Printing & Painting, Project 3, Textiles 1: A Creative Approach. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Project 3 – Stage 4

  1. fibresofbeing says:

    Lovely variety of colours and textures. You’ve built up a really exciting stash, and so many things with a story behind them.
    Just wish I could see it a bit better – my main computer is in surgery (power supply we think) and I’m on the netbook, so everything is seen on a small screen plus no standard email.

Leave a Reply

