Project 3 – Stage 3

Exercise 4 – Matching colours to 3D objects

Matching coloursI have recently been watching (I use the word ‘watching’ very loosely here – and with the sound off) children’s cartoon TV whilst eating my breakfast.  The reason is so that I can see the colour changes in clothing and hair as the characters move and so how the creases and shadows are formed.

I notice that the same hue but a much darker tone is used most of the time.  Obviously there is no subtlety in what is being portrayed but the concept works and has given me more of an eye for shadow colours.  When a cartoon character is wearing light blue trousers for instance, the shadows are made with a mid, to dark, stronger blue.  When there is pale golden brown hair the shadows are a deeper stronger brown.  I am starting to notice recurring colour themes in these programmes and wonder if it is because they are the quickest and easiest to animate realistically.

For this exercise I took some items and placed them on a pale blue background paper.  The paints were quite hard to mix to the correct colours but, with the aid of my textbooks, I think I did a reasonable job.  I wouldn’t say that the learning curve is finished and I’m brilliant at it but I’ve learnt a lot and if I get stuck I have the resources to hand to help me until it becomes more ingrained.

It has been interesting and amazingly time consuming to get this right.

About Claire B

A passionate embroiderer, a printmaker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I'm a perpetual student and love learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Assignment 2: Colour, Design, Printing & Painting, Project 3, Textiles 1: A Creative Approach. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

