Project 3 – Stage 3

Exercise 3 – Matching colours to a painting

I decided to take a painting by Piers Bateman called Road to Wilcannia as my sample.

Piers BatemanSeeing as it is the front cover of a catalogue I didn’t want to cut it out to mount for the exercise, so I scanned it into the computer and reprinted it for the work below.

Of course this changed the colours a bit as my different computer add-ons (printer, scanner, camera and the like) are not Pantone set – they are manufacturer default set – which can give some interesting but unexpected results on occasion.

Stage 3 Exercise 3Hard to see how my colour matching went with such a small view of the marked off area and my photo has made it really quite faded.  I suppose that’s what you get when an original photograph has been scanned, reprinted and re-photographed with the work sample.

This wasn’t an exercise in painting and copying the picture, only in mixing the colours as closely as possible.  In real life the colours are much more well matched than they appear on this posting.  The instructions said just to do brushstrokes in the colours and don’t try to match the original scene but I thought I would put the colours together in some sort of format.

Jo Sonja acrylic paints have been used throughout and although I have quite a good range of them they still required a lot of mixing to get the colours I was after.

About Claire B

I'm a passionate printmaker, paper-maker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I've stitched from early childhood and am a perpetual student, loving learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Assignment 2: Colour, Design, Printing & Painting, Project 3, Textiles 1: A Creative Approach. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

