Project 3 – Stage 3

Exercise 2 – Matching colours to fabric

Project 3 Stage 3 Artists Gouache have been used throughout.

The greens mixed up really well, quickly and I got the right colour without too much hassle.  The browns were a bit more of a challenge and it was only after looking at my samples for a while that I realised I needed some yellow (brilliant yellow) to get the warm creamy base colour.  I could get plenty of beiges but they all seemed just a bit ‘off” until the yellow was added.

The purple colours were much more difficult and I had several tries.  Whilst the paint was wet they looked like I had them right but when I went back a few minutes later I could clearly see they were too purple and not red enough.  However I found that if I added more red I still couldn’t get it.  I tried adding neutral grey (in various tones) but it was still wrong.  That was when I decided to leave it and go on to the greens and browns.  Finally I remembered to try putting a smidge of the complimentary colour in to the purple and see what happened.  So in went a bit of yellow (brilliant yellow again) and it started to look much better.

I might not have them exactly right but overall I’m getting the idea.  Seeing as I’ve spent quite a bit of time on this and I have exercises along the same line coming up next I’ve decided to leave it here and move on.

About Claire B

I'm a passionate printmaker, paper-maker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I've stitched from early childhood and am a perpetual student, loving learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Assignment 2: Colour, Design, Printing & Painting, Project 3, Textiles 1: A Creative Approach. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Project 3 – Stage 3

  1. Pingback: Mixing yellow « Fibres of Being

Leave a Reply

