Project 3 – Stage 2

Exercise 2

Here we were asked to cut out coloured squares and stick smaller neutral grey squares in the centre of each.  Each grey square should look slightly different according to the colour it has been placed on and it’s complimentary.

Grey with colours

The manual says that the grey squares should be tinged with the complimentary colour.

I’ve looked at them very hard.  I’ve had them in the sun, in the shade and isolated each so I don’t have a distraction in my periphery vision but I still don’t think I see it.

Grey with colours 1What I do see is that some appear lighter than others, some sharper and some appear to come forward whilst others recede a little.

Generally speaking neutral grey, for me, is exactly that – neutral grey.

About Claire B

A passionate embroiderer, a printmaker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I'm a perpetual student and love learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Assignment 2: Colour, Design, Printing & Painting, Project 3, Textiles 1: A Creative Approach. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Project 3 – Stage 2

  1. Jane says:

    I feel like I am learning vicariously through your experimentation. I’ve looked back at all the examples, & (also as you point out above – generally speaking) anything with a light centre & dark background appeals to me more – though I haven’t looked at them with the value finder.

Leave a Reply

