Assignment 1: A Reflective Commentary

Overall I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the start to this course and, looking back, I’m amazed at how much work I have done since starting.  One of the main things I have realised is how unfocused I had become in my textile work.  Without a clear goal, which this course is now providing, I was stitching what I wanted, how and when I wanted but many times without a clear purpose or end result in mind.   The fact that I am being forced to complete exercises which are not of my own choosing is proving to be stimulating and fulfilling.  I am going over basics that I learned a long time ago and am enjoying being reminded of these steps in development.

Having stitched for many years I now see that I have become very familiar with certain threads and yarns, particular types of embroidery and stitching and a fairly unstructured way of producing textile art.   The methodical approach of the course is pushing me to think, analyse and outline my work in a more orderly way which I hope will aid towards consistently better results.

As I’m doing more sketching I’m finding that I want my drawing to be as accurate as possible and closely resemble the real thing, but with stitching I am more free and flowing in my interpretation.  As I do more drawing and painting I hope to loosen up and not take it so seriously.  I keep reading in my text books, and in the introduction section of my course manual, that you just have to have a go and practice, practice, practice.  I’m so slow though that I keep wanting to put it off until I have loads of time to sit down and really concentrate for a long time.   Then when I see several hours have gone by and I’ve produced one fairly decent image I’m aghast at the little that has been achieved in the time.   I’m trying to get myself into the ‘just do 10-20 minutes more often’ frame of mind so I speed up and am not so overly critical.  My precise, neat, orderly self has chucked half my drawings in the bin (so my sketchbook is very slim), whilst my thinking, rational side has been yelling “Are you mad?  What on earth are you doing?”

Later this week I’m having a charcoal drawing lesson which I am really looking forward to and I hope it will be the first of several sessions of drawing with other people.

This is the final part of this Assignment and it’s all been fun and I’ve learned a lot along the way.  Now it’s time to label and pack it up before posting it to my tutor in the UK.  Then I can turn the page to Part 2.

About Claire B

I'm a passionate printmaker, paper-maker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I've stitched from early childhood and am a perpetual student, loving learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Assignment 1: Drawing, Mark-Making and Stitches, Project Reviews, Textiles 1: A Creative Approach. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

