Project 2 – Stage 2

Exploring marks & lines through stitch techniques.

Stem stitch sampler

Stem stitch sampler

In this sampler I’ve tried to show the effects of differing threads both standing alone and abutting others to build a more solid line.
Threads used include hand-dyed silk ribbon, crewel wool, Perle 8, Perle 5, crochet cotton No. 80, stranded cotton, Raj Mahal Art Silk (viscose).

Machined background
Painted and machined calico background

For my second piece I decided to use chain stitch.  To make the work more interesting I taped a piece of calico to my work surface and painted it, partially using a roller and then with a sponge.  Acrylic paints were used so it has stiffened and slightly thickened the fabric.

I then checked out the decorative stitches on my sewing machine.  Whilst I couldn’t find an actual chain stitch I did come across one that laid tiny back stitches in a loop like formation along a slightly wavy line.  This was good enough for my purpose as it formed a faux chain stitch shape.  I wanted to machine vertical rows with some overlapping and others stand alone but I also hoped to keep this as a definite background instead of being too outstanding and interfering with my main hand stitching.  With that in mind I chose threads that were slightly more vibrant than the paint but in the same colour range.  Then I moved to the hand stitching.

Chain stitch sampler

Chain stitch sampler

I have used chain stitch, twisted chain and whipped chain.  Threads used include Au Papillon metallic, stranded cotton (6 strands, 3 strands and single strand) and Perle 8.

Overall an interesting effect.  I like the gold chain stitched over the larger 6 strand chain and the single strand twisted chains unifying the flatter background with the heavier hand work.

About Claire B

I'm a passionate printmaker, paper-maker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I've stitched from early childhood and am a perpetual student, loving learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Assignment 1: Drawing, Mark-Making and Stitches, Project 2, Textiles 1: A Creative Approach. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Project 2 – Stage 2

  1. Helen says:

    I love your composition, Claire, and that variegated thread is gorgeous.
    Helen

Leave a Reply

