Stage 3 – Exercise 2

Woven Texture

Textural interpretations from a woven square

This was fun to do.  Having looked at some of the heavy textural marks made by van Gogh (the floor area in Chair with Pipe (1889)) and Gustave Caillebotte (the street in Paris, A Rainy Day – Intersection of the rue de Turin and the rue de Moscou/Temps de pluies à Paris (1877)) amongst others, I wanted to have a go at heavily loading a square ended brush with thick acrylic paint and swiping in short strokes on to my background.  This woven woollen square gave me the opportunity.
I think the fabric collage is quite effective but I would probably like to lie string down between the squares to define the directions better, thus making it more woven looking.
The charcoal looks better than the photo shows and the differing directions are more visible.
I am very pleased with the textas.  I cut a 1″ square template and laid it down using the pens within the small area and moving it for every application.  That is what has given the sharp differences between the sections with no accidental overlapping.

Brushes

Textural study of brush ends.

I realise that we weren’t supposed to make this exercise a drawing challenge but as my drawing skills are somewhat limited I decided to go down that route so I could examine perspective and relative sizing.  I cut a stencil for the brush handles and used it to paint them in.  The idea was then to interpret the brush ends in textural ways while trying to keep the sizing and proportion in line with the handle I had already worked.

About Claire B

A passionate embroiderer, a printmaker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I'm a perpetual student and love learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Assignment 1: Drawing, Mark-Making and Stitches, Project 1, Textiles 1: A Creative Approach. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

