Exercise 4 – Other ways to make marks

Stamps
Variety of stamped images

I thought I would try out some commercial and homemade stamps.  The prints above have been done with screen printing ink as it is very thick, easy to apply, doesn’t run and gives an excellent result.

Stamp samples
A range of stamps

These are some of the stamps I tried (some also for the rubbings).  I then thought I would have a go on dyed cotton fabric.

Fabric Printing
Fabric Printing Sample

This was fun and the black ink shows up very well on the medium grey background.  The wavy lines to the right were made using a kitchen hand towel insert wrapped with string and elastic bands.  Then as I rolled it across the fabric I continually applied more ink.

Rubbings

Rubbings with Shiva sticks and coloured pencils

Scratch & Resist Techniques

Scratch & Resist Techniques

Now I’m working in colours and a variety of media I think the samples look way better trimmed and mounted.  I find it offputting to have the untidy edgings showing.  I’m fussy, I know, but I think it takes away from the technique I am trying to show.  When I do something I especially like I’m going to trim and mount from now on.

Stencilling

Stencilling - various media

I recently made this stencil from acetate myself.  I wondered what it would look like in all the different colouring agents I could find in my workroom.  It has been a valuable lesson to see the amount of different effects I could make using the one shape.  I can see myself referring to this page many times in the future when I want to compare the mark making properties of one media against another.

Drawing Inks

The drawing inks give such a smooth marbled effect, with no harsh lines or veins.
Top left: multi layers of ink on crumpled tissue paper Vleisofixed to backing paper.  Skewer in bleach from left bottom corner.
Top middle: Embossed postcard, inked in blue and purple with black water soluble pencil on heightened embossing.  Bleach droppered on to work and postcard then tipped up and down to spread bleach.  This took a while to get the full effect but the result is superb.
Top right: light colour ink base, masking tape in lines and round the edge.  Second layer of ink over resist with tiny droplets of bleach on the end of a skewer applied.  Masking tape removed when ink dry.
Bottom left: orange Indian ink with Quink ink droplets.  Bleach applied in swirls with skewer.
Bottom middle: teal Indian ink with tiny amount of Quink ink lightly mixed, applied to wet postcard.  Salt lightly shaken over and left to dry.  Salt then removed.
Bottom right: light colour ink base, masking tape round the edge.  Second layer of ink (+ tiny amount of Quink ink) and salt applied as previous sample.

Ink & Bleach
Ink & Bleach

I loved this piece so much I decided to mount it on black paper hoping to enhance the deep colours of the work instead of washing it out with white.

Acrylic Bleach Collage

Acrylic paints, bleach, spray adhesive and collage.

 I’m not the best at collage and this looks a bit like the collaged piece has just been ploncked onto the work.  Really not integrated that well.

Collage

Acrylic paints, spray adhesive, bleach and collage

Looking a little better but not something I’m terribly happy with.  I find collage in this form quite difficult.

Picture transfer

Picture transfer & acrylic paints.

 The fixative spray over a magazine image and then transferring didn’t work for me, so I checked through my vast array of books and notes on other ways to transfer images.  I  photocopied my image on to acetate (which is a great look), applied acetone (nail varnish remover) to thick paper and placed my image face down on to this.  I then rubbed very hard using a smooth hard pad and carefully pulled the acetate away.  The image was left on the paper.

Picture transfer

Picture transfer

 This is the same technique as above and on both examples I’ve tried to integrate the images by applying paints over them so all image edges are covered.  This picture is better than the one above but neither do a lot for me.  I think they show off the technique well but would I consider putting one on my wall at home?  I think not.

About Claire B

A passionate embroiderer, a printmaker and a poor sketcher (which I'm working to improve). I'm a perpetual student and love learning and participating in everything creative.
This entry was posted in Assignment 1: Drawing, Mark-Making and Stitches, Project 1, Textiles 1: A Creative Approach. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Exercise 4 – Other ways to make marks

  1. Jane says:

    I like your image transfer ones

Leave a Reply

